

16th International Conference on Surfaces, Coatings and Nanostructured Materials www.nanosmat.org/special.html

SHORT BIO:

Catherine J. Murphy is the Larry R. Faulkner Endowed Chair in Chemistry and current Head of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). Dr. Murphy earned two B.S. degrees, one in chemistry and one in biochemistry from UIUC in 1986, and her Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, in 1990. From 1990-1993 she was an NSF then NIH postdoctoral fellow in chemistry at the California Institute of Technology. Prior to her appointment at UIUC in 2009, she was on the faculty of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of South Carolina from 1993-2009. Murphy's honors include the 2022 Centenary Prize of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the 2020 ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry, the 2019 Remsen Award, the 2019 Linus Pauling Medal, and the 2019 MRS Medal, and many young investigator awards. She is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Murphy is an Associate Editor for Chemistry, and a member of the Editorial Board, for the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. She is a member of the Board of Directors of the Research Corporation for Science Advancement, the Scientific Advisory Board of the Welch Foundation, and Dow's Science and Technology Advisory Council. She is a coauthor of the best-selling general chemistry textbook Chemistry: The Central *Science*, from the 10th to the present 15th edition.

Her research interests are in the areas of synthesis, properties, chemical sensing, biological applications and environmental implications of colloidal inorganic nanomaterials, especially gold nanorods; optical probes of DNA and protein nanoscale structure and dynamics; sustainability; inorganic and materials chemistry.

NANOSMAT2025